Official | Update : 13.02.18 . 11:16 AM

Cinéfondation Prizes

Emmanuelle Trompille

Emmanuelle Trompille

In 1998, Gilles Jacob and Pierre Viot created the Cinéfondation to promote the discovery of the new generation of filmmakers. An official selection of films from film schools is therefore presented during the Festival. This year, 17 films from Asia, Europe, North America and South America have been selected from the 1200 submitted.

The Jury presided by Hou Hsiao Hsien and composed of Olivier Assayas, Susanne Bier, Marina Hands, and Larry Kardish has awarded prizes to the following films:

1st Prize
HIMNON (Anthem) directed by Elad Keidan
The Sam Spiegel Film & TV School, Israel

2nd Prize
FORBACH directed by Claire Burger
La fémis, France

Joint 3rd Prize:
STOP directed by Park Jae-ok
The Korean Academy of Film Arts, South Korea

KESTOMERKITSIJÄT (Roadmarkers) directed by Juho Kuosmanen
University of Art and Design Helsinki, Finland

Elad Keidan had these words to say after receiving the First Prize of the Cinefondation, “I found that the Festival de Cannes is a test of relationships and we survived,” mentioning his girlfriend Gila among his thanks to the Festival, his crew, and the persons representing the Sam Spiegel Film and TV School. “This film is my tribute to Jacques Tati. I thank French cinema. I want to dedicate this to a very good friend of mine from my class, who recorded sound in my film and we lost him in December to cancer. Thank you.

Susanne Bier, filmmaker from Denmark and member of the Jury, took the microphone to congratulate all the young filmmakers, “For the entire Jury, it has been an extreme pleasure to have this window to each of your personal worlds, which it really has been. All of you, please continue; it’s been so interesting and so exciting and each film has got tremendous qualities. So congratulations to all of you, even the ones who are not standing on this stage.”

Share the page

The same day