Official | Update : 13.02.18 . 10:55 AM

Cinefondation: Awards

Palmarès Cinéfondation

Palmarès Cinéfondation © Déborah Corcos

Gilles Jacob and Pierre Viot created the Cinefondation in 1998 in order to discover the new generation of up and coming filmmakers. Since then, each year, a new selection of film school works have been presented to audiences during the Cannes Festival. This year there were 16 films from Asia, Europe, North America and South America chosen from among the 1,200 entries. The jury was presided by Jia Zhang ke and included Niki Karimi, Deborah Nadoolman Landis, Dominik Moll, and JMG Le Clézio. Jury President Jia Zhang ke announced, “We were very stimulated by the films we saw, coming from the different countries and the different styles. They aroused my passion for film and made me want to go back to film school.”

In the presence of Gilles Jacob and the jury, the prizes were awarded to:
First Prize: Ahora Todos Parecen Contentos (Now Everybody Seems to be Happy) by Argentinean Gonzalo Tobal.
Second Prize: Ru Dao (Way Out) by Chinese director Chen Tao.
Third Prize (a tie): A Reunion by Korean director Hong Sung-Hoon and
Minus from Serbian director Fakultet Dramskih Umetnosti.

Photo Copyright Déborah Corcos

Share the page

The same day