Official | Update : 13.02.18 . 11:36 AM

Jury Prize: "Thirst" and "Fish Tank"



The Jury Prize was awarded to two films:


- Fish Tank by Andrea Arnold


- Thirst by Park Chan-Wook


The Jury Prize ended in a tie, and was bestowed by Laura Morante upon:
Fish Tank by Andrea Arnold, who said, "Thank you to the Festival for showing my film in the first place. It’s a great honor to have a film screened here; it gives it a great start in life. Thank you to the Jury for your love and consideration, which must have been incredibly tough looking at all these films. I’d like to say that when you make a film you give a bit of yourself; in fact a lot of yourself on certain levels. Thank you for that recognition. Merci beaucoup."


Thirst by Park Chan-Wook :
"I think I still have a long way to go before I become a true artist. I must admit, I have yet to experience the pangs of creation. All I have experienced is the joy of creation. When my first two films bombed at the box office, it was a long time before I could make this third feature. So this is an immense pleasure for me, from the conception of the film to its release – except for the interviews. It's the last step for a film, to be screened at the Cannes Festival. I'd also like to express my sincere thanks to the members of the Jury. Please allow me to share this honor with my great friend and longtime partner in filmmaking, Mr. Song Kang-Ho."


During the follow-up press conference, Andrea Arnold talked about the divided opinion over her film:
"I didn't look at anything, and I didn't read anything, so I didn't know there was a division. People tell me things, but I personally don't read reviews. I think it's a dodgy place to get into, really. I want to be my own judge… For better or worse, that's the way I want it to be. I know [the film] got a strong reaction, and I'm sure some people thought good or bad things about it, but I don't mind. I like it when people have a reaction. When they walk out and don't like it, that's good too. Bring it on."

Official24.05.09 . 00:00 AM

Jury Prize and Best Director Prize (original version)

Share the page

The same day