Caméra d’Or

Michael Rowe © AFP

The Camera d’Or has been awarded to Ano bisiesto (Leap Year) by the Mexican Michael Rowe (Quinzaine des Réalisateurs). The prize was presented by the French actress Emmanuelle Béart. The President of the Caméra d’Or Jury, Gael Garcia Bernal, talked of a “very special film, made with great care and a lot of love.” The winning director notably thanked his native Mexico for having created his characters, and dedicated his award to his daughter.