75th Edition | Update : 03.05.22 . 6:33 PM

Actress Rossy de Palma, President of the Jury of the Caméra d'or at the 75th Festival de Cannes

Actress Rossy de Palma, President of the Jury of the Caméra d'or at the 75th Festival de Cannes

Actress Rossy de Palma, President of the Jury of the Caméra d'or at the 75th Festival de Cannes © Antonio Terron


Following Mélanie Thierry in 2021, Spanish actress Rossy de Palma will be the President of the Jury of the Caméra d’or of the 75th Festival de Cannes, which will be awarded to a film among all the first feature films in the official Selection and in the parallel selections.

In 2018, Lukas Dhont, who is featured this year in the Competition, was awarded the Caméra d’Or for his film Girl. In 2019, the Caméra d’or was awarded to filmmaker César Diaz for his film Nuestras madres and it was awarded in 2021 to director Antoneta Alamat Kusijanović for Murina, which is currently in theaters in France. The Jury will present the award at the Festival’s closing ceremony on Saturday, May 28, 2022.

Boldness and spontaneity are the key drivers of the first films competing for the Caméra d’or. So who could better support the début of those directors than Rossy de Palma, an actress known for her originality and panache? Her face, her charisma, her demeanor, she is the ultimate muse. When she invented herself into an actress in Pedro Almodóvar’s Law of Desire, her flamboyance and energy appealed to viewers as she made the silver screen her home. Since then she has been cast in numerous international films and has worked many times in France. She comes as a constant surprise and displays many talents: singer, actress, icon. Every appearance is an opportunity for her to regenerate and reengineer the initial startle.


An inspiring figure of the Festival de Cannes, she ran in the Competition with Pedro Almodovar in 2009 with Broken Embraces and in 2016 with Julieta. She also came with Terry Gilliam’s The Man who Killed Don Quixote that was screened at the close of the Festival in 2018.


Jury of the Caméra d'or

In accordance with the tradition, the jury consists of French representatives of the industry (media, industry, filmmaker associations) and two guest artists along with Rossy de Palma.


Rossy de Palma - Présidente

For the FICAM 
Fédération des industries du Cinéma, de l'Audiovisuel et du Multimédia

Natasza Chroscicki 
CEO of ARRI France

For the AFC 
Association française des directeurs de la photographie
Jean-Claude Larrieu

For the SRF 
Société des Réalisateurs de Films

Éléonore Weber
Auteure, metteuse en scène & cinéaste

For the SFCC 
Syndicat français de la critique de films

Olivier Pelisson
Journalist & film critic

Lucien Jean-Baptiste
Director, screenwriter & actor

Samuel Le Bihan

"The creation of a film, says Rossy De Palma, is the story of an obsession, an act of disproportionate willingness that defies logic, propelled by the vital need to express a vision. In order to do that, it takes unfaltering perseverance in order to cross deserts strewn with mirages, dare expose yourself to those who are watching, convey the desire to overwhelm, transform, transcend. But in the case of a first film, it’s even more heroic, more daunting. Because, as in everything that is done for the first time, there is an ingredient of the unexpected, an element of magic. And we celebrate the birth of a filmmaker! My love story with cinema and with the Festival de Cannes is a story of pure joy which extends into being the President of Jury of the Caméra d’or. From the bottom of my heart, I do hope I will prove worthy of this great honor."

Rossy de Palma, President of the Jury of the Caméra d'or

About the Caméra d’or

The Caméra d’or was created in 1978 by Gilles Jacob, who was then the General Delegate. It is awarded to the best first feature film presented in the official Selection, in the Semaine de la Critique or in the Quinzaine des Réalisateurs. It is designed to encourage young creation and it is a catalyst for the career of filmmakers as it offers them a unique, international showcase. Past winners of the Caméra d’Or include Jim Jarmusch, Mira Nair, Jaco Van Dormael, Naomi Kawase, Bahman Ghobadi and Steve McQueen.


Rossy de Palma

An emblematic actress of Spanish cinema, Rossy De Palma was revealed to audiences by Pedro Almodóvar in 1986 in La Loi du désir. With him, she then acted in Femmes au bord de la crise de nerfs, Attache-moi !, Kika, La Fleur de mon secret, Étreintes Brisées (in the Competition at the Festival de Cannes in 2009) and then in Julieta which ran in the Competition in 2016 and more recently in Madres paralelas. Rossy de Palma’s movie career became more international in 1990 when she was invited to work with such directors as Robert Altman, Mike Figgis, Karim Dridi, Patrice Leconte, Mehdi Charef, Amanda Sthers, Terry Gilliam and recently Benjamin Millepied in his début feature film. Whether in New York or Paris, she has also acted in major drama and opera productions. An artist with multiple talents and a fashion icon with a rebel yet endearing personality, Rossy de Palma has appealed to many designers and creators in fashion, music, photography and art all over the world.

Share the page


The same day