About the 2024 awards: press conference of the Feature Film Jury

Conférence de presse du Jury des Longs Métrages - Clôture 2024 © Amandine Goetz / FDC

The Feature Film Jury presided over by Greta Gerwig and made up of Lily Gladstone, Omar Sy, Ebru Ceylan, Juan Antonio Bayona, Eva Green, Hirokazu Kore-eda, Nadine Labaki and Pierfrancesco Favino convened for a final time after the announcement of the winners of the 77th Festival de Cannes for a press conference. Here’s some of what they had to say.

Greta Gerwig

We have been transported and moved by formal aspects that reminded us of classical structures but we also discovered unexpected elements. We talked a lot throughout the festival. In the final discussions, we continued to dance together.

Eva Green

I felt like I was in a magical bubble.

Lily Gladstone

I was really lucky to find myself with this group of artists where there was a lot of respect even when there were disagreements. I became a better spectator. We found a balance in our choices. We kept in mind everyone’s opinions. There was cooperation between us all.

Nadine Labaki

Discussions were very fulfilling and respectful. It’s surprising to see the extent to which one’s perception of a film can change when you hear the opinion of someone else.

Omar Sy

We feel that we’ve done our duty.

Greta Gerwig on a group winning the Best Actress Award

Separating them would have broken the magic of what they had managed to create. It’s something we wanted to highlight.

Greta Gerwig on the Special Jury Prize awarded to Mohammad Rasoulof

It’s a remarkable film and we wanted to pay tribute to it. We wanted to shine a spotlight on the bravery it took to make this film, underline the sacrifice. We’re living at a time where cinema is emphasising important things, and to make this kind of film, you have to pay a heavy price.